DearCMS
How to Start Freelancing as a Web Developer in 2022
Stefan Kudla

Stefan Kudla

Mar 16, 2022

How to Start Freelancing as a Web Developer in 2022

It’s true, and it’s daunting. At first, you’re going to look into a sea of contracts, and have no idea where to start. Some will look easier than others, some will pay more, but all of them are potential opportunities to find your footing.

Trust me, there is no perfect first contract. Find one that looks tangible and something that you think you are capable of. Even if you’re not 100% sure that you can do something or have done it before, trust in your skills as a developer and a learner. Just know that Google will always have your back in a sticky situation. No joke, most entry level contracts will be something that you can use a web search to guide you to execution. 

My first contract freelancing as a web developer was simple, yet scary, because I have never done anything like it before. I had been assigned a contract to edit some custom code on Squarespace, and mind you, I had never even interacted with Squarespace before. I communicated with the client to be sure of what they needed exactly, and proceeded to trek along with the task. It took me longer than it should have, but with some good searches to reference, I figured it out after a few hours.

At the end of it, I was sitting at my desk extremely happy and gracious, because I realized that all the time I spent studying web development had finally amounted to something.

Stefan Kudla

Stefan Kudla

Stefan is a Software Developer, Music producer, and Blogger from Las Vegas, Nevada. When he's not creating something, you can usually find him brushing his teeth with coffee, getting lost somewhere in Europe, or looking for the best view atop a mountain.

Leave a Comment

Related Posts

Categories